PDA

View Full Version : please help w/ overheat

fun-times-always
11-17-2008, 01:57 AM
first post here, a friend on mustangforums recommended this site to me concerning a problem with my 2004 R1. the bike has 5000 miles on it, mostly stock save for exhaust, intake, and other small stuff. the story is mostly i brought the bike to a self car wash to hose it down. it has ran just fine the entire time i have owned it, but after washing it, it was overheating on the way home bad. i stoped a couple of times just to get it 15 miles. the light comes on, on the dash. is there something i may have hit with that sprayer or pulled a wire off or something of that sort? i am pretty new to the bike world. any help i would appreciate much. thank you much. my intent is maybe its a quick fix insted of paying a dealer lots of money for.

Cutty72
11-17-2008, 02:06 AM
Check make sure all your coolant lines are still connected where they should be, and that there is coolant in the system.
Then check to see if the thermostat wires are all connected.

and FYI, high pressure water and bikes aren't the best combo in the world.

fun-times-always
11-17-2008, 02:09 AM
i will, thanks for your help on that, and wont make that mistake again

Mr Lefty
11-17-2008, 02:42 AM
yeah shit just get a bottle of Meguires quick detail and spray and wipe after every ride and you'll be good. no need to ever wash the bike with water imo unless you get caught in some nasty rain or some how get nailed with mud... :2cents:

on the main issue... yeah check to see that you didn't somehow dislodge a hose... also check that your fan is working... you may have unplugged the fan if there's a quick disconnect you hit with the high pressure water.

how long ago was this? does the bike overheat when it's idle'n or only at speed? does your fan come on... how is your coolant level?