Go Back   Two Wheel Fix > In the Garage or Shop > Mechanical or Tech

Old 05-20-2009, 06:39 AM   #1
chris_y2k_r1
Squid

Default Ex500 - Sat for 2 years, has random "Slap" while trying to start

I recently picked up an EX500 in very good shape for next to nothing. It has been sitting for quite some time (A year or two). When I tried to start it up, while the bike was cranking - just on the starter, it would not catch, every couple of rotations I was getting a nasty and very audible "Slap". It can be felt on the cylinder. I put my hand on the bottom end and on the cylinder and it is definitely top end. I'm a bit curious (and nervous) about this. Everything on the bike is stiff from sitting so I am assuming that the wrist pin is just stiff and causing the skirt to hit the bottom of the cylinder.

It's completely random but does it more when initially trying to start the bike. It becomes less and less frequent but is more frequent w/ the throttle at WOT.

I'm an experienced mechanic for sure but I wanted to see if anyone else had experience with this specific symptom. I"m not looking for theories... I got plenty of those - I'm hoping someone else has experienced this exact issue - at start up. The EX is a 90, but I"m sure that any EX including the 250 is likely to have the same problem under similar circumstances.

Thanks in advance for any experience you can share.

ChR1s
chris_y2k_r1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 07:47 AM   #2
was92v
Nowhere Man

Yes. But only theories as to why.
It will always do that, sometimes, sitting for a long time or not. Ignore it and ride. It's an EX thing, just to keep you nervous and attentive.
was92v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 10:56 AM   #3
Digifox
Cl4p-Trap

Moto: Your mom.

Was92V is right

My 250 DID it.....
And i think its just the cam chain slapping around in the head.
(Tightens up the slack then pops and slaps something in there?)
Old 05-20-2009, 02:45 PM   #4
BobTheBiker
too much time on my hands